You shoulda kept it in your pants…


QUESTION:

So basically, I met this girl who worked at my local convenient store a few months back. We actually went to high school together and had a few mutual friends so we began to hangout. It was completely platonic and we actually started to get very close. This one night about a month ago she invited me out with her friends to a club and we both got very drunk and ended up having sex (I can’t remember if I used protection or not). We didn’t talk about that night until three days ago she had me meet her up at a restaurant. She told me that she was pregnant and that the baby was mine. She said she was positive that it was mine and that she wanted to keep it. I told her i would take care of both of them. But now I basically don’t know what to do. Should I tell my family and friends even though I’m not a 100% sure it’s mine? Should I basically try to start a relationship with her or just be there for them? If I don’t marry her or anything of the like, will my signature on the birth certificate be enough to gain custody? I’m really starting to worry. I just graduated college and have barely started my life and wasn’t even planning to have kids. What advice can you give me?

ANSWER:

You have no idea what this girl is like. My suggestion is to be polite to her during this time and then ask for a paternity test as soon as you can. This is a great example of why you don’t have sex until you are ready for a committed relationship. This is a baby that probably should be adopted out to a two parent household. It’s what’s best for the child. I would strongly suggest you have that kind of conversation with this immature girl. As far as the other issues with the birth certificate etc… you would need to talk to an attorney to know what your rights are.

Doc David
http://www.docdavid.net

Make yourself heard!

