Mommy issues…


  Question:

I could really use some advice when dealing with my mother.  I am a 26 year old female still living at home.  I have a full time job but I don’t want to waste money on a apartment when I am free to live at home.  My mom and I have a love hate relationship.  She is addicted to her work and she basically does not do anything around the house.  She will work all day then come home and work more on her computer.  She will also do this all weekend.  I am left to do the dishes everyday, feed all the pets, pick up everything, and basically do all the housework.  I feel completely taken advantage of, especially when I also work all day and would like to come home and rest.  If I mention cleaning she will have a complete temper tantrum and start blaming me that she is not allowed to relax or do anything fun.  She actually says that “all I do is clean, and thats all i’m good for”.  I am at the end of my rope and I don’t know if I should start looking for a apartment or what to do.  I am very stressed out and it is hard for me to deal with this anymore.  The house is falling apart and I am getting blamed.  Any advice would be welcome.
 

Answer:

You probably should start looking for another place to live. Yet, if you are not paying rent you are either a guest or a dependant adult. If you are a guest then it seems you would be doing all you could to show thankfulness. If you are a dependant adult then it seems you owe it to your mother to clean up since you aren’t paying rent. Bottom-line it sounds like it’s time to move out of the home. If you don’t then just do what you need to do to keep the peace in the home. This may seem like a lot, but you aren’t paying rent and it seems like it’s the least you could do, right?

Make yourself heard!

