Get Stronger…


  QUESTION:

I’m 32 years of age and I’m seriously thinking about cutting off my relationship with my dad. While growing my father has been extremely controlling with regards to instilling me with fear about life and has physically abused me as well. He’s a very domineering person that cracks it if he doesn’t get his own way (big time). I became a person that was too scared to have an opinion useless I knew that it fit with his believe system. Since not spending much time with him I am getting better (after talking to a lot of people) over time. Whenever I come into contact with him my life is like hell again because I’m so scared about what he will say to me and I don’t feel very safe around him. I am an emotional wreck after seeing him. What is the right thing to do in this circumstance?
 

ANSWER:

I think since you still have anxiety in dealing with him you should do two things. You should actively work to find ways to work on your anxiety. Talking with friends, speaking to a therapist, taking medication there are any number of ideas. The second idea is that if you have to talk with him then you be in charge of the when and where it will happen. If it can be done through e-mail, or phone all the better. At some point you are going to need to get strong enough to do this on your own. Until you get to that point get support and be the one in charge of when things happen with him.

Make yourself heard!

